University Thoughts – Finding Yourself

I often forget that I am still growing. That I am still only in the first quarter of my life. Though I often find myself caught between who I want to be and who I’m trying to be, and I sometimes wonder if I’m trying to be the person I want to be, or if I’m trying to be the person I think other’s want me to be.

I’m not quite sure who I am, and I’m trying to work that out at the moment. Trying to work out what my place in this world is meant to be. I see how people at University change, some try desperately to reinvent themselves, to make people see them how they want people to see them, some people don’t change at all, some people kid themselves into thinking they are changing but they just can’t escape themselves, some just mature, and some are still lost, still trying to work out what sort of person they want to be.

Yet, the thing is, the thing I’m trying to remind myself is that I don’t just become one identity. I will go through so many reincarnations of myself throughout my life time, it’s not a matter of finding one and going with it. Perhaps I need to stop trying to find myself and be a specific person, but just let myself evolve and develop freely without pressure. The only sort of person I should be aiming to be in life is happy. Nothing else. The only person I need and want to be is happy.

Leave a comment